Super summer gazpacho

Standard

This is the perfect time of year for gazpacho, actually it’s the only time. Tomatoes are in season and will be falling off the vines in your garden or available by the bushel at the farmer’s market. It’s also the only time of year you can get decent tomatoes at the grocery store. Most of the other veggies are also in season.

I sometimes forget how much I love gazpacho, I was inspired by this recipe in Food and Wine. I tweaked it a little, because that’s what I do. It fits perfectly into my quasi “detox.”

One of the great things about gazpacho is that it takes about 10 minutes. Who doesn’t need more recipes like that in their life?

 

Summer is the only time to make and eat gazpacho. Use the best tomatoes you can. I had delicious yellow ones from my pal Maggie's garden.

Summer is the only time to make and eat gazpacho. Use the best tomatoes you can. I had delicious yellow ones from my pal Maggie’s garden.

About 1/4 cup each fresh fennel and onion

2 small cucumbers, partly peeled (use the mini ones if you can find them, or half a full-sized cuke)

3 medium to large tomatoes

1/4 red pepper

2 tablespoons fresh oregano (or parsley)

1 Tbsp red wine vingegar

1 tsp (approx) honey

1 Tbsp good quality olive oil

salt/pepper

Put everything in a blender or food processor. Blend to desired consistency. Taste for seasoning. Chill for 30 minutes if you can (it’s better really cold, and it gives the flavours time to meld). Garnish with a few chopped cucumbers/peppers/leeks/onions/cheese etc.

TIPS

  • Don’t substitute the oregano for basil or the soup will taste like cold pasta sauce. A little cilantro could work, but too much and it will taste like salsa.
  • This is great as is, but adding some cooked chicken, shrimp, beans or tofu adds some protein for a fuller meal. I put chicken, feta cheese, cucumbers and a few olives.
  • You can definitely make this a day or two in advance.

 

 

Leave a comment